Packtally guide
Packtally vs Packledger: a Packledger alternative for Shopify EPR
Looking for a Packledger alternative? Packtally counts packaging EPR by ship-to state from real Shopify orders, checks 14 laws and has a $190 a year Exempt plan.
Short answer: Packtally builds your packaging EPR numbers from the ship-to state of every fulfilled Shopify order, adds real boxes from ShipStation or a 3PL file plus Amazon and wholesale sales, writes your methodology, signs and locks each filing and checks 14 other product and packaging laws. Packledger's listing doesn't state any of those. For a Shopify brand that files its own reports, or an exempt brand that needs records for $190 a year, Packtally is the one we recommend. Packledger is the pick if you want review or filing done for you.
Disclosure: We make Packtally, and it's launching soon: it's in Shopify App Store review now, so you can't install it yet. Packledger's details come only from its Shopify App Store listing, checked on November 3, 2026. We couldn't open Packledger's own website when we checked, so anything its listing doesn't say is marked "Not stated". Neither app is legal advice; confirm your obligations with counsel.
At a glance
| Feature | Packtally | Packledger |
|---|---|---|
| Real boxes from ShipStation or a 3PL file | Yes | Not stated |
| Amazon, wholesale and other sales | Yes, including Amazon's shipments report | Not stated |
| Written methodology | Yes, on Report and Pro | Not stated |
| Textile EPR, PFAS, Prop 65 and other law checks | 14 laws checked on every plan | Not stated |
| States named | Oregon, Colorado, California, Washington, Minnesota, Maryland, with Maine tracked for when its program starts | California, Oregon and Colorado named as examples; the listing says "in every state" without a full list |
| Free plan | Where you owe by state, 14 law checks, deadlines, full packaging setup | Liability check, fee estimates from shop data, deadline and filing resources |
| Packaging per product | Packaging library with 36 materials, per product or per tag, type or vendor, bundles and shipping kits | Add packaging to confirm each SKU's bill of materials |
| Customer data | Read only; stores only the state and country each order shipped to | Listing says it accesses customer physical addresses; how long it keeps them isn't stated |
| Languages | Six | English |
| Expert review of your report | No. A read-only link lets your accountant or consultant review it | Yes, on Expert Reviewed ("Expert Reviewed & Guaranteed"); guarantee terms not stated on the listing |
| Files for you | No. You submit in CAA's portal yourself | Yes, on Fully Managed ("Fully managed registration & filing") |
| Developer | Music City Labs, Nashville | PackLedger LLC, Longmont, Colorado |
Why stores choose Packtally
- State totals that match where you shipped. Packaging is counted from the ship-to state of every fulfilled order, and each order uses the box it really shipped in when you connect ShipStation or upload a 3PL file. Type any order number to see exactly what it added.
- Every channel in one report. Amazon's shipments report, wholesale and retail sales are added by state, not just Shopify orders.
- Your own numbers, in your control. A filing workbook in the portal's order, a copy-ready entry sheet and a methodology written from how your numbers were built.
- A record you can defend. 22 checks before you file, signed locks, an archive of every locked version and alerts if your numbers change after you lock or submit.
- One app for 14 more laws. California textile EPR, PFAS bans, Prop 65, Toxics in Packaging, recyclable claims and more, shown only when they apply to what you sell.
- Suppliers do their share. Send a link suppliers fill in with weights, materials and certificates, reviewed before anything changes, with their documents stored encrypted next to each packaging item.
- Lower fees, not just reported fees. Fee estimates for four states, with flat fee options and packaging swaps priced with your own orders.
- Less shopper data on file. Packtally is read only on Shopify and never stores shopper names, emails, phones or addresses.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Packtally Free | $0 | Where you owe, state by state, from real orders; 14 law checks; deadlines with reminders; packaging setup, real boxes and Amazon imports |
| Packtally Exempt | $190 a year or $19 a month | Signed exemption records, registration and exemption tracker, California sales evidence, Prop 65 product page block, supplier documents and links |
| Packtally Report | $1,580 a year (founding offer: $790 the first year for the first 100 stores) | Pounds by material for each state, filing workbook in the portal's order, written methodology, sign and lock, accountant link, fee savings ideas |
| Packtally Pro | $3,980 a year (founding offer: $1,990 the first year) | Fee bonus helper, fee forecast and accruals, several stores filed as one company, prior-year reports |
| Packledger Exposure Check | Free | Liability assessment, fee estimates from real shop data, deadline and filing resources |
| Packledger Self File | $1,188 a year, 14-day free trial | State formatted report generation, self filing tools and guides |
| Packledger Expert Reviewed | $3,588 a year, 14-day free trial | Everything in Self File, plus "Expert Reviewed & Guaranteed" |
| Packledger Fully Managed | $9,588 a year, 14-day free trial | Expert onboarding, fully managed registration and filing, access to compliance experts |
What the prices mean in practice: Packtally's free plan already includes the full packaging setup, real boxes and Amazon imports, so you can set up everything and see where you owe before paying. Exempt brands get signed records and renewal reminders for $190 a year, a plan with no equivalent on Packledger's listing. For the first 100 stores, Report's founding price of $790 for the first year comes in under Self File's $1,188. Packtally's paid plans have a 14-day free trial, billed through Shopify; state EPR fees are separate either way.
When Packledger might fit better
- You want it handled for you. Expert Reviewed adds a review and a guarantee, and Fully Managed says it covers registration and filing. Packtally never registers, files or pays for you.
- You file yourself and want the lower list price. Self File is $1,188 a year against Packtally Report at $1,580. Only Packtally's founding offer, for the first 100 stores and the first year, comes in under it.
- You need an app installed today. Packledger launched on the Shopify App Store on August 7, 2026, and had 0 reviews on November 3, 2026. Packtally is still in review, though its free public EPR checker needs no install.
Which to choose
- Filing yourself with a 3PL, Amazon or wholesale in the mix: Packtally Report.
- Apparel, cosmetics or food packaging: Packtally, for the textile EPR, PFAS and Prop 65 checks alongside packaging.
- Probably exempt: Packtally Free to see where you stand, then Exempt if you need signed records and California's exemption tracked.
- Filing yourself, want a reviewer: Packtally plus your own accountant or consultant on the read-only link, or Packledger Expert Reviewed.
- No time, budget for help: Packledger Fully Managed, or a consultant.
Questions
What's the best alternative to Packledger?
For a Shopify brand that files its own reports, Packtally: it counts by ship-to state from real orders, real boxes and Amazon sales, and checks 14 more laws. For done-for-you filing, an EPR consultant or compliance service.
Packtally vs Packledger: which is cheaper?
Packtally Exempt ($190 a year) has no Packledger equivalent on its listing, and Packtally's founding offer puts Report at $790 for the first year. At list price, Packledger Self File ($1,188 a year) is cheaper than Packtally Report ($1,580).
Does Packtally file my EPR report?
No. Packtally prepares a checked workbook and a copy-ready entry sheet, and you submit in Circular Action Alliance's portal. It isn't legal advice.
Is Packledger worth it?
It can be if you want review or filing done for you, which Packtally doesn't offer. Ask what the guarantee covers before paying, since the listing doesn't say.
See every Packtally feature, and get notified when Packtally is live.
Sources
- Packledger on the Shopify App Store (checked November 3, 2026)
- Circular Action Alliance: Producer Reporting (checked November 3, 2026)
- Packtally plans and features (checked November 3, 2026)