Music City Labs

Keyholder guide

Shopify POS with Keyholder vs Lightspeed Retail, Square and Clover

Looking for a Lightspeed, Square or Clover alternative? Shopify POS keeps online and in store in one system, and Keyholder is being built to fill its gaps.

Short answer: Shopify POS runs from the same admin as your Shopify online store, so the register and website share one catalog and stock count, with nothing to sync. Its in-person rates carry a 10¢ fixed fee where Square's carry 15¢, and gift cards come on every plan. The gaps are layaway, work orders, a time clock, commissions and surcharging, which Keyholder is being built to fill from one tile and one bill. Lightspeed has more of those tools built in today.

Disclosure: We make Keyholder, an app for Shopify POS. It is in development now, not yet built or installable, and early access is open. Everything about the other four comes from their own pricing pages, help centers, developer docs and blogs, checked November 3, 2026. "Not stated" means the official pages we read don't mention it. "Not checked" means we couldn't load the page.

At a glance

FeatureKeyholder (in development)Shopify POSLightspeed Retail (X-Series)SquareClover
Gift cardsPlanned: reloads at the register (Pro plan)Yes, on every Shopify planYesYes. 2.5% load fee on Free and Plus, none on PremiumClover Gift Cards, a free app (2020 Clover post)
Card surchargingPlanned (Shop plan)Not statedYes, Smart Terminal with Lightspeed Payments (US beta, credit only, 3% cap)Yes, open beta (credit only, 3% cap, not in CT, ME, MA or PR)Surcharge program (2022 Clover sheet) and a Cash Discount tool (2024)
Work orders and repairsPlanned (Shop plan)Not statedService Orders module, sold as an add-onNot statedNot checked
LayawayPlanned (Shop plan)Not built in, per Shopify's layaway guide. Partial payments, yesYesNot statedNot checked
Special ordersPlanned (Shop plan)Not statedNot checked (the help article wouldn't load)Not statedNot checked
Offline card paymentsNot statedYes, on supported readers once you turn it onYes, once you turn it on for each outletYes, on every planYes. Mini and Flex default to up to 7 days
Reorder pointsPlanned (Pro plan)Not stated (POS Pro has low stock alerts and purchase orders)Yes, per product variantLow stock alerts (Plus and Premium). Reorder points not statedNot checked
LoyaltyPlanned (Pro plan)Not stated (POS Pro lists "customer loyalty insights")Yes, built inYes (Plus and Premium)Clover Rewards (plan and price not stated)
Time clockPlanned (Pro plan)Not statedYes, built inYes (Plus and Premium)Yes, shifts with clock-in and clock-out (plan not stated)
CommissionsPlanned (Pro plan)Not statedStaff sales report and targets. Commission math not statedYes (Plus and Premium)Not checked

Why stores stay on Shopify POS with Keyholder

Shopify POS points come from Shopify's pages. Keyholder points are planned: it's in development.

  • One system online and in store. The register runs from your Shopify admin: no second catalog to sync, nothing to migrate.
  • A smaller fee on every tap. Shopify charges 2.6%, 2.5% or 2.4% plus 10¢ in person; Square adds 15¢ at the same percentages. Keyholder isn't a processor, so Shopify's rates stay.
  • Gift cards on every plan. Shopify includes them on every plan; Square charges a 2.5% load fee on Free and Plus. Keyholder plans reloads at the register.
  • Layaway from the cart. Shopify's own guide says POS has no built-in layaway. Keyholder plans deposits, schedules, reminders and pickup that closes the sale.
  • Card fees that follow the rules. Square's and Lightspeed's surcharging are credit-only betas. Keyholder plans fees only where state and card brand allow, signs for each state, a cash discount mode and refunds of any debit fee.
  • Work orders included. Lightspeed sells Service Orders as an add-on; Keyholder plans repair tickets, QR claim tags and quotes.
  • One tile, one bill. Reports, reorder points, a time clock, commissions, loyalty and donations are planned in one app, with a free plan for donations, event sales tax and a card fee report.

Pricing

Shopify POS comes with your Shopify plan, so selling online and in person is one software bill.

SystemSoftware priceIn-person card rate, as publishedWorth knowing
Shopify POSComes with a Shopify plan: Basic $39, Grow $105, Advanced $399 a month (one price per store). POS Pro is $89 a month per location, billed yearlyBasic 2.6% + 10¢, Grow 2.5% + 10¢, Advanced 2.4% + 10¢POS Pro adds staff roles, unlimited POS staff, purchase orders, low stock alerts and retail reports
KeyholderNot set yet. Prices are published before it opens to storesNot a payment processor. You keep Shopify's ratesPlanned Free, Shop and Pro plans. See what each is planned to include
Lightspeed Retail (X-Series)Basic $89, Core $149, Plus $289 a month, one register included. Yearly billing saves up to 18%; the page doesn't say which billing these prices reflectLightspeed Payments card-present rate listed as 1.5%Prices can vary and extra fees may apply. Extra registers and locations aren't priced. Another processor adds a monthly third-party fee
SquareFree $0, Plus $49, Premium $149 a month per locationFree 2.6% + 15¢, Plus 2.5% + 15¢, Premium 2.4% + 15¢. Keyed-in 3.5% + 15¢ on every planPlus adds loyalty, staff shifts and attendance, and marketing. Premium adds advanced reporting and drops the gift card load fee
CloverNot checked (the pricing page needs JavaScript). Clover's deal pages say "Contact us for custom pricing"Not checkedHardware on deal pages: Go $199, Compact $349, Mini $849 or $45 a month. Promotional hardware offers need a 3-year processing agreement

When Lightspeed, Square or Clover might fit better

  • Lightspeed Retail has layaway, reorder points, a time clock and loyalty built in today, and lists a 1.5% card-present rate. It suits a store-first shop that doesn't need Shopify's online store.
  • Square starts at $0 per location with offline payments; Plus at $49 adds commissions, shifts and loyalty.
  • Clover sells its own terminals, with offline mode on Mini and Flex for up to 7 days. All three are available today.

Which to choose

  • Selling online and in store: Shopify POS, plus Keyholder once it opens (ask for early access). Meanwhile, see layaway and surcharge apps for Shopify POS.
  • On Shopify and missing one tool: add it rather than move your catalog and stock to a second system.
  • Store-first, no online store, layaway needed today: Lightspeed Retail.
  • Starting at $0: Square Free.
  • Terminal bundle: get Clover's quote and contract length in writing.

Questions

What's the best alternative to Lightspeed, Square or Clover for a shop that sells online?

If your online store is on Shopify, we recommend staying on Shopify POS, which runs from the same admin. Keyholder is being built to add layaway, work orders, card fees, reports and more in one app. It's in development, so ask for early access.

Is Lightspeed better than Shopify POS for a retail store?

Lightspeed lists more in-store tools built in today. Shopify POS keeps register and online store in one admin, and Keyholder is planned to add the missing in-store tools.

Is Square cheaper than Shopify POS?

Square Free is $0 per location at 2.6% + 15¢ in person. Shopify Basic is $39 a month for the whole store, online and in person, at 2.6% + 10¢; POS Pro is $89 a month per location. Square's loyalty and commissions need Plus at $49 per location.

Can I add a credit card surcharge on Shopify POS?

Shopify's POS pages we read don't mention a surcharge setting; App Store apps add a fee line from a tile. Square's and Lightspeed's help pages note credit only, a 3% US cap and excluded states. Keyholder is planned to check the state and card brand first. It isn't legal advice.

See every Keyholder feature, and ask for early access.

Sources